Mahoney, Piepkorn win reelection in City of Fargo races

(Fargo, ND) -- The City of Fargo will see two familiar faces and one newcomer following Tuesday night's election.

Fargo Mayor Dr. Timothy Mahoney won his re-election bid, defeating six challengers, including City Commission candidate Arlette Preston. Mahoney won the election with 40 percent of the vote, with Preston following in second place with 20 percent.

In the City Commission race, two seats were up for grabs -- incumbent Dave Piepkorn was running for re-election in one of the seats, and the other seat was up for grabs, after Fargo City Commissioner Tony Gehrig announced he would not seek re-election in the 2020 primary election. A total of 15 candidates ran for the two seats on the Fargo City Commission.

Piepkorn won his re-election bid, with just under 13 percent of the vote. Newcomer Denise Kolpack led all candidates, receiving just under 14 percent of the vote for the other seat on the Fargo City Commission.

Fargo voters also overwhelmingly passed the term limits ordinance.