White House announces new Russian sanctions

Photo by: WDAY Radio Staff
Photo by: WDAY Radio Staff

(Washington, DC) -- The White House is marking the one-year anniversary of the Ukraine Invasion by announcing new sanctions on Russia.

The Biden administration Friday announced a new round of economic aid to Ukraine, in coordination with U.S. allies in the Group of Seven nations.

New sanctions are also being announced. The Treasury and State departments are imposing sanctions against 200 individuals and entities, including both Russians and those who support the Russian invasion.

The entities being sanctioned include Russian financial institutions and those helping Russia to evade existing sanctions.