NDSU Picked Second In MVFC Preseason Poll With 10 Bison On Preseason Team

     North Dakota State University has been picked to finish second in the Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC) in a poll composed of the league’s media, head coaches, and sports information directors.

     The Bison have 10 players honored in the Preseason All-MVFC teams. They include players on the first team, second team, and honorable mentions. The first team included wide receiver Christian Watson, fullback Hunter Luepke, offensive lineman Cordell Volson and Cody Mauch, defensive end Spencer Waege, linebacker James Kaczor, and safety Michael Tutsie. The second team featured tight end Noah Gindorff and defensive tackle Eli Mostaert. Tight end Josh Babicz is NDSU’s lone honorable mention.


2021 Missouri Valley Football Conference Preseason Poll

Team (First place votes)

1. South Dakota State (24)

2. North Dakota State (18)

3. North Dakota

4. Southern Illinois

5. Northern Iowa (1)

6. Missouri State

7. Illinois State

8. South Dakota

9. Youngstown State

10. Indiana State

11. Western Illinois


2021 Preseason All-MVFC Team

First Team

QB - Tommy Schuster, RSo. North Dakota

RB - Pierre Strong Jr., Jr., South Dakota State

RB - Otis Weah, RJr., North Dakota

FB - Hunter Luepke, Jr., North Dakota State

TE - Zach Heins, So., South Dakota State

WR - Avante Cox, Jr., Southern Illinois

WR - Christian Watson, Sr., North Dakota State

WR - Dennis Houston, Sr., Western Illinois

OL - Cordell Volson, Sr., North Dakota State

OL - ZeVeyon Furcron, Sr., Southern Illinois

OL - Garret Greenfield, So., South Dakota State

OL - Matt Waletzko, Sr., North Dakota

OL - Cody Mauch, Sr., North Dakota State

DL - Jared Brinkman, Gr., UNI

DL - Caleb Sanders, Jr., South Dakota State

DL - Spencer Waege, Sr., North Dakota State

DL - Jordan Berner, Sr., Southern Illinois

LB - James Kaczor, Sr., North Dakota State

LB - Logan Backhaus, Sr., South Dakota State

LB - Spencer Cuvelier, Sr., UNI

LB - Grant Dixon, Sr., Youngstown State

DB - Don Gardner, Sr., South Dakota State

DB - Qua Brown, Sr., Southern Illinois

DB - Montrae Braswell, So., Missouri State

DB - James Ceasar, Sr., Southern Illinois

DB - Michael Tutsie, Sr., North Dakota State

P -   Brady Schutt, Sr., South Dakota

PK - Matthew Cook, Jr., UNI

LS - Dalton Godfrey, Jr., South Dakota

AP - Javon Williams Jr., So., Southern Illinois

RS - Christian Watson, Sr., North Dakota State


Second Team

QB - Stone Labanowitz, Sr., Southern Illinois

RB - Isaiah Davis, Fr., South Dakota State

RB - Jaleel McLaughlin, Sr., Youngstown State

FB - Jason Garrett, Jr., Southern Illinois

TE - Noah Gindorff, Sr., North Dakota State

WR - Jaxon Janke, So., South Dakota State

WR - Tony Tate, Sr., Western Illinois

WR - Caleb Vander Esch, Sr., South Dakota

OL - Mason McCormick, So., South Dakota State

OL - Dan Becker, Sr., Youngstown State

OL - Landon Bebee, Jr., Missouri State

OL - Wes Genant, Sr., South Dakota State

OL - Trevor Penning, Sr., UNI

DL - Kevin Ellis, Sr., Missouri State

DL - Eric Johnson, Sr., Missouri State

DL - Anthony Knighton, Sr., Southern Illinois

DL - Eli Mostaert, So., North Dakota State

LB - Devon Krzanowski, Sr., North Dakota

LB - Bryson Strong, Jr., Southern Illinois

LB - Brock Mogensen, So., South Dakota

LB - Tylar Wiltz, Sr., Missouri State

DB - Evan Holm, 5th Year, North Dakota

DB - Austin Evans, Gr., UNI

DB - Kyriq McDonald, Sr., Missouri State

DB - Zaire Jones, Sr., Youngstown State

DB - Omar Brown, Jr., UNI

P -   Jack Colquhoun, Sr., Southern Illinois

PK - Jose Pizano, Jr., Missouri State

LS - Bradey Sorenson, Sr., South Dakota State

AP - Deion McShane, Sr., UNI

RS - Tony Tate, Sr., Western Illinois


Honorable Mention

QB - Will McElvain, Jr., UNI

QB - Connor Sampson, Sr., Western Illinois

RB - Tyler Hoosman, Sr., UNI

FB - Tim McCloyn, Sr., Illinois State

TE - Josh Babicz, Sr., North Dakota State

WR - Isaiah Weston, Sr., UNI

WR - Dante Hendrix, RJr., Indiana State

OL - Isaiah Edwards, RSr., Indiana State

OL - William Waddell, Sr., Western Illinois

OL - Mason Scheidegger, Sr., South Dakota

DL - Inoke Moala, RSr., Indiana State

DL - Reece Winkelman, Jr., South Dakota State

DL - James Jackson, Sr., Youngstown State

DL - Jacob Matthew, Sr., South Dakota

LB - Jack Cochrane, Sr., South Dakota

LB - Jaxson Turner, 5th Year, North Dakota

DB - Michael Thomas, RJr., Indiana State

DB - Benny Sapp III, Sr., UNI

DB - Jordan Canady, 5th Year, North Dakota

DB - Myles Harden, Fr., South Dakota

P -   Adam Fellner, Sr., Western Illinois

PK - Nico Gualdoni, Sr., Southern Illinois

LS - Dan Heilbron, Jr., Southern Illinois

AP - Christian Turner, Sr., Youngstown State

RS - Luke Skokna, Jr., North Dakota