Matt Entz Is The AFCA National Coach Of The Year

     The American National Football Association (AFCA) National Coach of the Year is presented to the top coach in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II, Division III, and NAIA.

     This is Entz’s second time winning the award in his three seasons as head coach of the Bison. This season he led NDSU to a 14-1 record, Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC) title, and the ninth FCS national championship. In three seasons Entz has an overall record of 37-4 along with leading the Bison to two MVFC titles and a pair of national championships.

     The North Dakota State Bison have won eight AFCA National Coach of the Year awards. NDSU’s eight is second most at all four levels only trailing Mount Union's nine. The NDSU AFCA National Coach of the Year award winners are Don Morton (1983), Earle Solomonson (1986), Rocky Hager (1988, 1990), Craig Bohl (2012, 2013), and Matt Entz (2019, 2021).